Info for voters of Govindrajnagar Constituency- MLA, Candidates, Voting and more

If you are one among the lakhs of voters of Govindrajnagar, this is what you need to know!

Background information

Incumbent MLA: Priya Krishna

Sitting MLA Priya Krishna won with a vote share of 55.36% in 2013. He was only 29 then. He is the son of MLA M Krishnappa (also known as Layout Krishnappa), also an MLA, representing Vijayanagar Constituency. He is of the richest candidates with Rs 910 Crore+ in assets, 777 cr in liabilities in 2013. Current assets are 1020 crores and liabilities 802 crores.

Priya Krishna, a post-graduate with a degree in Law, has been active in the party since 2006, helping out with campaign work with his father.

List of candidates, 2018


Indian National Congress

V Somanna

Bharatiya Janata Party

  • Family: Wife, 1 dependant
  • Educational Qualification: BE
  • Profession: Vidhana Parishad member
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases: 1
  • Net Worth:
    • IT Returns: Self-62.04Lacs, Spouse-84.35Lacs
    • Movable Assets: Self-4.28cr, Spouse-8.35cr
    • Immovable Assets: Self-4.46cr, Spouse-35.82cr
    • Liabilities:2 cr

A Nagendra Prasad

Janata Dal (secular)

  • Family: Wife, 3 dependants
  • Educational Qualification: PUC (incomplete)
  • Profession: Travel Business
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases:
  • Net Worth:
    • IT Returns: NIL
    • Movable Assets: Self-12.51Lacs, Spouse-5.66Lacs, Dependant-1000Rs
    • Immovable Assets: NIL
    • Liabilities: 6 Lakhs

Full list of candidates

[embeddoc url=”” width=”100%”  download=”all”]

Previous Results

2013 candidates Party Votes Age Vote Share %
Priyakrishna INC 72654 29 55.36%
H Ravindra BJP 30194 50 23.01%
T M Range Gowda JD(S) 20662 68 15.74%


2008 candidates Party Votes Age Vote Share %
Priyakrishna INC 64176 NA 50.63%
V Somanna BJP 58937 NA 46.5%
D Mahadev IND 705 NA 0.56%

Citizen Demands

About constituency

The constituency covers Prashanth Nagar, Corporation Colony, BMP Colony, Govindaraja Nagar, Magadi Chord road Layout, Thimmenahalli, CHBS Layout, Binni Layout, Vijaya Nagar 1st Stage and a few other areas. The voter count, 2013: 239,480.  It has gone up to 292,973 as of May 2018.


[flexiblemap src=”” width=”100%” height=”400px” ]

Support Citizen Matters - independent, Reader-funded media that covers your city like no other.DONATE