All you need to know about Ward 55 – Devasandra

55 – Devasandra


This is one of those wards where a sitting corporator is given a ticket again by a main party, despite the ward reservation being changed to general.

MLA (2013): B A Basavaraja (INC), K.R. Puram
MP (2014): D V Sadananda Gowda (BJP), Bangalore North

BBMP 2010

Corporator: R. Manjula Devi (BJP)
#1, Lakshmi Venkateshwara Nilaya, 1st cross, K.T.B Layout, K.R.Pura, Bangalore-36. Ph: 9980096006
Reservation: BC-B

Winner’s percentage: 23
Winner’s margin: 1752
Total votes polled: 12372
Total voters: 29770

BBMP 2015

Total voters: 26838
Male: 14440
Female: 12393
Others: 5

Reserved: General

Contesting Candidates

BJP: R Manjuladevi
INC: M N Srikanth
JDS: D Raghavendra Gowda
BSP: R Ramakrishna
CPI(M): S Muniraju
Independent: S Suresh, Shivaraman Hariharan, Suresha, Sayyed Lalu


  • Population (2011): 33946
  • Households: 8638
  • Area: 3.5 sq km

Civic Amenities/Infrastructure

  • Road length: 254 km
  • Lakes: Mahadevapura, Gangashetty Kere, Vijanapura, Vijinapura – 42, Total area: 13.9 sq km
  • Parks: 1, Total area: 4.7 sq km
  • Playgrounds: 0, Total area: 0 sq km

Active citizen groups/RWAs

If you represent any RWA from this area, please click here and fill your info. It will be added to this space after verification.


More information on candidates

Shivaraman Hariharan, Independant candidate

These are the candidates contesting the BBMP elections- 2015, whose information is available with Citizen Matters. If you do not find a particular candidate on this page, do ask them to fill the Candidate Information Form as soon as possible.

No candidates have filled the information collection form so far. If you know anyone contesting, do ask them to fill the Candidate Information Form as soon as possible.

How was the money spent? Tenders, job codes, bills:

  • Click on the sections corresponding to complaints, tenders and bills, to get a feel of what are the problems, what is being addressed, how much money is being spent, and is it really happening on ground.
  • Scroll using your arrow keys to see the details within the sections.

Click here to view the raw data.

What’s bothering the residents? Complaints represented in a wordcloud:

Data Courtesy

BBMP, Janaagraha, BBMP Restructuring Committee website

Disclaimer: This data is an extract; it is not complete, and not verified independently. It may not be from the entire tenure of BBMP council 2010-15.

Related Articles

Ward information page: Ward 54 – Hudi
Ward information: 82 – Garudacharpalya
All you need to know about Ward 84 – Hagadur
All you need to know about Ward 85 – Doddanekkundi
‘Cash for coverage’ comes to BBMP elections too
BBMP Elections 2015: Special coverage by Citizen Matters

Support Citizen Matters - independent, Reader-funded media that covers your city like no other.DONATE
About Poll Desk 125 Articles
The author has not yet added any personal or biographical info to her or his author profile.