Ward information page: Ward 149 – Varthur

149 – Varthur

Varthur, one of the wards in Mahadevapura zone, is facing the growth pang many other areas in the city too are facing. However, the presence of many IT/ITES companies and large number of employees in the area has made the ward gain more importance in terms of lack of infrastructure such as good roads and water. Here is more about the ward.

MLA (2013): Arvind Limbavali (BJP), Mahadevapura
MP (2014): P C Mohan (BJP), Bangalore Central

BBMP 2010:

Corporator: S. UdayKumar (INC), Reservation:G
#480 (16), Munnekolala, Bangalore East, Bangalore-36


Winner’s percentage: 34.3
Winner’s margin:2900
Total votes: 20936
Total voters: 33994

BBMP 2015:

Total voters: 45069
Male: 24068
Female: 20990
Others: 11

Reserved: SC (Women)

BJP: Pushpa Manjunath
INC: Nisha S Vasu
JDS: Chamundeshwari Yellappa
BSP: Chandrakala

Candidate debate


Population (2011): 54625
Voters: 43072
Households: 14256
Area: 28.3sq km

Civic Amenities/Infrastructure

Road length: 772 km
Lakes: Chikkabellandur,Gunjuru Moji,Gunjuru Karmelaram,Gunjuru Palya,Panathur Kere – 38,Panathur Kere – 48,Varthur, Total area:238 sq km
Parks: 2, Total area:0.5 sq km
Playground: 0, Total area:0 sq km

Active RWAs/ citizens’ groups:

Whitefield Rising, Bruhat Whitefield Residents Residential Community Association (BWRCA), Federation of Thubarahalli Apartment Owners Associations (FTAOA)


There is no data available currently with Citizen Matters, about the candidates contesting the BBMP Elections 2015.

If you do not find a particular candidate on this page, do ask them to fill the Candidate Information Form as soon as possible.

Tenders, Work orders and other ward related data

  • Click on the sections corresponding to complaints, tenders and bills, to get a feel of what are the problems, what is being addressed, how much money is being spent, and is it really happening on ground.
  • Scroll using your arrow keys to see the details within the sections.

What’s bothering the residents? Complaints represented in a wordcloud

Data Courtesy

BBMP, Janaagraha, BBMP Restructuring Committee website

Disclaimer: This data is an extract; it is not complete, and not verified independently. It is not from the entire tenure of BBMP council 2010-15.

Support Citizen Matters - independent, Reader-funded media that covers your city like no other.DONATE