Get your Khata through Sakala, without bribe

Support Citizen Matters - independent, Reader-funded media that covers your city like no other.
Get in-depth and insightful stories on issues that affect you every day!

One of the useful initiatives by the erstwhile BJP Government in Karnataka was the Karnataka Guarantee of Services to Citizens Act – 2011,also known as Sakala. Introduced on 1 March 2012, it aims at bringing transparency in administration. There are various services offered under Sakala, including obtaining a Khata for your house. For more information on Sakala, visit the website here.


The Sakala website mentions the list of documents required for submitting your Khata registration application:

  1. Application in prescribed form
  2. Attested copy of the title deed
  3. Copy of Encumbrance Certificate (in form 15) for the past 10 years
  4. Conversion Certificate of the Land Conversion of the issued by the competent authority
  5. Survey sketch / Tippani copies
  6. Copies of the NOC from Town Planning Authority (BDA) for bifurcation of land (in case of land measurements less than the measurements in land conversion certificate)

Sample Khata Certificate (click on image to enlarge)Sample Khata Form (click on image to enlarge) Sample Khata Form (click on image to enlarge)

Click on images for sample Khata form and Khata certificate.

However, this list is not fully correct and incomplete. You will be asked for a few other documents too. This is where you’ll start feeling frustrated and feel that it may have been less stressful to just pay the service charges (bribes) like many others and get the Khata delivered to your home.

But this notion isn’t true. A group of apartment owners from Ozone Evergreens, Bellandur Ward, have succeeded in using Sakala to get their Khatas registered. And they did it without paying any bribes.

To apply for your Khata for a new property (Khata registration) through Sakala, here’s what you need to do.

  1. Collect copies of the documents required from the developer. In the case of a layout or apartment, these will be common for all owners:
      • Khata certificate and extract in the name of the builder or previous owner
      • Approved site plan
      • Building plan approval letter
      • Tax paid receipts of the last three years. If you have just got your property, this would have been paid by the builder. If you are applying after you’ve paid tax yourself, then attach your receipts.
      • Occupancy Certificate
  2. Collect copies of your property’s documents
      • Sale deed – attested/ notarised
      • Tax paid receipts of the last three years
      • Latest Encumbrance Certificate, for at least a year, that shows the property in your name – if you haven’t got the Encumbrance Certificate that shows the property in your name, then apply for one at the Sub-registrar’s office in your jurisdiction with a copy of your sale deed. You should get it in less than three days by paying a fee of around Rs 45 per year. You can also do it through a broker at a higher cost.
  3. Buy a Khata Application form for Rs 10 from the BBMP Assistant Revenue Officer (ARO) Office. Fill the application form and attach the documents mentioned at 1 and 2 above. It is important that you fill your mobile number in the form.
  4. Your application form is now ready for submission. Take it to the BBMP Office and tell the BBMP Case Worker/ Receiving Clerk that you are submitting the Khata application form under Sakala. He/ she will then upload your Khata application details to Sakalaand you will be given a 15 digit acknowledgement number that will reach your mobile phone.
  5. If the Case Worker/ Receiving Clerk is hesitant to accept your application, find out if anything is wrong, if there are any other documents you need to submit. If there are genuine problems or requirements, you can correct them/ get the required documents and then submit. If you find the demands unreasonable, or if the worker does not want to accept the application using Sakala, do not hesitate to escalate the matter at the Sakala helpline number 080-44554455.
  6. Once submitted, contact the BBMP office after a few days to know the approval status. According to the Sakala website, it should take not more than 30 days.
  7. If the Khata application is approved, then you will be told to make two Demand Drafts – one for an amount which is 2% of the stamp duty you paid at the time of registration (this is the Khata registration fee) and another for Rs 125 (for Khata Certificate and Khata Extract). Get them made at any bank and submit them to the BBMP office. Then collect the Khata Certificate and Khata Extract in your name.

According to the Sakala website, the following is the Work Flow for the processing of Khata registration:

Work Flow

Step Description No. of Days Designation
1 Receiving and verification of document issue of acknowledgement by case worker / receiving clerk 1.00 Case worker
2 Office manager- for verification and placing before aro for acceptance and referring to the concerned ward case worker 1.00 Manager
3 ARO /manager – for approval to refer the file to case worker 1.00 Others
4 Case worker – to register in ktr books and verification of documents with reference to existing assessment entries before putting up preliminary report 2.00 Case worker
5 Manager / case worker – for approving the preliminary report and referring the same to the concerned revenue inspector or to issue suitable endorsement if any to the applicant 1.00 Manager
6 Revenue inspector – for verification of documents , spot inspection etc., and putting up necessary reports on file 5.00 Inspector
7 ARO – for verification of reports / documents and inspection if necessary and for report 2.00 Others
8 Revenue officer – for verification / inspection and approval or recommendation reports 3.00 Revenue officer
9 Zonal deputy commissioner – for approval or recommendation 2.00 Deputy commissioner
10 Zonal additional / joint commissioner- for orders 3.00 Additional/joint
11 Zonal deputy commissioner / revenue officer – for sending the file to concerned ARO 2.00 Deputy commissioner
12 ARO / manager – for referring the file to case worker for collection of ktr fee etc., and preparing mutation 2.00 Others
13 Case worker – for preparation of mutation entries / endorsement / remittance of fees and comuterization of data etc. 2.00 Case worker
14 Manager – for scrutiny of mutation entries and endorsement 1.00 Manager
15 ARO – for verification and approving the endorsement / certificate 1.00 Others
16 Case worker – for dispatch of certificate to the applicant 1.00 Case worker

Useful tips:

  • There could be variations in the procedure mentioned because different ARO offices could work slightly differently. But don’t despair. Ask questions, find out the procedures when in doubt.
  • If you face any resistance, call the Sakala helpline 080-44554455.
  • If the Sakala helpline does not help, contact Lokayukta 080-22251394, 080-22257013 or Audio recordings of discussions at the submission offices can help your case.
Get the Citizen Matters newsletter

1 Comment

  1. Very informative post Arathi.

    Any success scenarios guys???

    Please post, if any, along with hiccups.

    This will boost the moral of the readers. 🙂

Comments are closed.