Shivajinagar by-election: Info on candidates, constituency and more


The Shivajinagar seat had become vacant after incumbent MLA Roshan Baig was suspended from the Indian National Congress this year for ‘anti-party’ statements and activities. Baig, a seven-time legislator, was charged with slamming state leaders as well as being involved in the multi-crore IMA scam.

Know your candidates

Nineteen candidates are contesting from Shivaji Nagar constituency in the bypolls. Seven other candidates had withdrawn their nominations, and three others were rejected.

Following are the major candidates:

Rizwan Arshad

Party: Indian National Congress

  • Family: Spouse and two dependants
  • Educational qualification: B Com
  • Profession: Business, MLC (Member of Legislative Council)
  • Online:
  • Pending criminal cases: Nil
  • Net worth
    • Total assets: Rs 24.4 crore (Corrected*)
    • Movable assets: Rs 10.5 cr
    • Immovable assets: Rs 13.9 cr
    • Liabilities: Rs 4.4 cr
Tanveer Ahmed Ullah

Party: Janata Dal (Secular)


  • Family: Spouse and two dependants
  • Educational qualification: BBM
  • Profession: Business
  • Online:
  • Pending criminal cases: Nil
  • Net worth
    • Total assets: Rs 6.4 cr
    • Movable assets: Rs 1.8 cr
    • Immovable assets: Rs 4.6 cr
    • Liabilities: Nil
M Saravana

Party: Bharatiya Janata Party


  • Family: Spouse and four dependents
  • Educational qualification: SSLC
  • Profession: Social worker and agriculturist
  • Online:
  • Pending criminal cases: Nil
  • Net worth
    • Total assets: Rs 15.21 cr
    • Movable assets: Rs 5.08 cr
    • Immovable assets: Rs 10.13 cr
    • Liabilities: Rs 4.46 cr
Vatal Nagaraj

Party: Kannada Chalavali Vatal Paksha


  • Family: Spouse
  • Educational qualification: SSLC
  • Profession: Social worker
  • Pending criminal cases: Nil
  • Net worth
    • Total assets: Rs 6.5 crore
    • Movable assets: Rs 12.60 lakh
    • Immovable assets: Rs 6.43 crore
    • Liabilities: Rs 4.8 lakh

Full list of candidates

Name of Candidate

(Click on name for affidavit)

Political Party Symbol
Rizwan Arshad, 40, B Com, Business Indian National Congress Hand
Tanveer Ahmed Ullah, 43, BBM, Business Janata Dal (Secular) Lady farmer with paddy on head
M Saravana, 54, SSLC, Social worker and agriculturist Bharatiya Janata Party Lotus
Vatal Nagaraj, 79, SSLC, Social worker Kannada Chalavali Vatal Paksha Chappals
Suhail Siddiq Sait, 44, SSLC, Self-employed Berojgar Aadmi Adhikar Party Fist with pen
Kaushik Reddy, 35, B Com, Writer at APMC Yard Uttama Prajaakeeya Party Autorickshaw
Dr John Basco Phillips, 47, Diploma in Electrical Engineering, Self-employed Indian Christian Front Grapes
Ambrose D’ Mello, 52, MA (Kannada Comparative Lit), Social activist Independent Slate
Dr Abdul Subhan, Diploma in Mechanical Engineering, Businessman Karnataka Rashtra Samiti Whistle
A K Venkateshwarulu, 42, B Com, Accountant Independent TV Remote
Syed Asif Bukhari, 46, BA, Tea maker Independent Calculator
Imran, 31, SSLC, Social worker Independent Diamond
Mukhthar Ali Khan, 50, SSLC, Social worker Karnataka Karmikara Paksha Tractor
Abdul Hannan, 46, B Pharma, Businessman Social Democratic Party of India Gas cylinder
M Ishittiyak Ahmed, 45, Class IX, Two-wheeler businessman Independent Apple
Shanawaz Ahmed, 47, SSLC, Social worker Independent Coconut farm
B Krishna Prasad, 65, PUC, Tyre businessman Proutist Bloc India  Flute
Mohammed Hanif, 54, Class VII, Tailor Independent Sewing machine
Robert Clive, 37, BA, Social service Independent Telephone

Results of 2018 assembly election:

In last year’s election, Roshan Baig had won 59,742 votes in this constituency – that is, over 55 percent of the total votes polled. The runner-up Katta Subramanya Naidu of BJP had won 44,702 votes (41 percent). NOTA came third, and Shaik Mastan Ali of JD(S) came fourth with just around one percent of votes.

Name Sex Age  Category Party General votes Postal votes Total Votes % votes
R Roshan Baig M 64 Gen INC 59,679 63 59,742 55.04
Katta Subramanya Naidu M 67 Gen BJP 44,646 56 44,702 41.19
NOTA 1651 3 1,654 1.52
Shaik Mastan Ali M 43 Gen JD (S) 1310 3 1,313 1.21

(Source: ECI)

About the constituency

[flexiblemap src=”” width=”100%” height=”400px” ]


Shivaji Nagar is appreciated for its environment of communal harmony, with a large Muslim population and considerable Tamil population.

Before delimitation, Shivaji Nagar had the lowest number of voters among all Bengaluru constituencies. Only three wards – Sampangiramanagar (ward 77), Vasanthnagar (78) and Shivajinagar (79) – were part of the constituency then. Post-delimitation, Bharathinagar (80), Ulsoor (81) and Jayamahal (92) wards were included in it. Vidhana Soudha too falls in this constituency. While Shivaji Nagar ward largely comprises crowded market areas, the other wards have a mix of diverse groups.

Problems voiced by citizens in this constituency include garbage mismanagement, shortage of bus stops, parks and playgrounds, poor water supply and bad infrastructure. Frequent garbage dumping in some areas had even forced residents in Shivaji Nagar to start their own clean-up initiatives. There are also concerns about large chunks of land in Shivaji Nagar being acquired for Metro construction.

Total number of registered voters: 1,93,844

Number of registered voters in 2018 election: 1,91,528

[*Corrigendum: There were errors in the ‘assets’ section of candidate Rizwan Arshad, due to an inadvertent mistake in totalling. We regret the errors.

Number of registered voters has been updated based on ECI press release of 2.12.2019]

Support Citizen Matters - independent, Reader-funded media that covers your city like no other.DONATE
About Revathi Siva Kumar 40 Articles
Revathi Siva Kumar is a freelance writer based out of Bangalore.