Congress wins Karnataka, but no hard grip on Bengaluru

The people’s mandate for Karnataka is clean and clear – they do not want to watch the episodes of resort politics, horsetrading and ‘óperations’ to continue. The Congress party has been given the mandate to rule the state for next five years – but it’s no way an approval of the massive scams erupting at the Central government level. It is just that people have taken a chance to see if Congress is a ‘lesser evil’ for the state.

In Bangalore, the number of Congress MLAs has gone up from 10 to 13 – an increase of just two seats. Anekal, Yeshwanthpur, Rajarajeshwari Nagar, K R Puram and Chikpet have slipped from Bharatiya Janata Party’s fold to Congress’ fold, while Congress lost Mahalakshmi Layout and Pulakeshinagar to Janata Dal (Secular), resulting in a two-seat increase for JD(S). BJP lost five seats and is down from 17 to 12 in numbers.

2008 tally: BJP-17; INC-10; JDS-1

2013 tally: BJP-12; INC-13; JDS-3

2013 State Assembly Election Results – Bangalore
Results: 28/28 (INC-13; BJP-12; JDS-3)

Name of the Constituency & number
Winner Party Votes secured Runner up
Winning margin

Vishwanath S R

S R Vishwanath BJP  75507 Gopalakrishna MN (INC)  18397
  K R Puram
B A Basavaraja INC 56381 N S Nandish Reddy (BJP) 10830
 Krishna Byregowda Byatarayanapura
Krishna Byregowda INC  96125 A Ravi (BJP) 32400
Somashekhar INC 120132 T N Javarayi Gowda (JDS) 29010
  Rajarajeshwari Nagar
Munirathna INC  71054 KLR Thimmananjaiah (JDS) 18813
 Muniraju S Dasarahalli
S Muniraju BJP 57562 B L Shankar (INC) 10828
  Mahalakshmi Layout
Gopalaiah K JDS 43953 N L Narendra Babu (INC) 1673
 Ashwathnarayan Malleshwaram
Ashwath Narayan BJP  57609 B K Shivaram (INC)  21066
R Jagadish Kumar BJP  38162 A Rehman Sherief (INC) 5136
  Pulakeshinagar (SC)
A Srinivas Murthy JDS 48995 B Prasannakumar (INC) 10199
Sarvagna Nagar
K J George INC 69893 Padmanabha Reddy (BJP) 22854
  CV Raman Nagar (SC)
S Raghu BJP 53444  P Ramesh (INC) 8462
Roshan Baig
INC 49649 Nirmal Kumar Surana(BJP) 20855
N A Haris
INC 54342 K Vasudeva Murthy (JDS) 20187
Dinesh Gundu Rao INC 54968 P C Mohan (BJP) 22607
Sureshkumar BJP 39291 Manjula Naidu (INC) 14767
Priya Krishna INC 72654 H Ravindra (BJP) 42460
M Krishnappa INC 76891 V Somanna (BJP) 32642
Zameer Ahmad Khan JD(S) 56339 G A Bava (INC) 30162
R V Devaraj INC 44714 Uday Gaurdachar (BJP) 13049
Ravi subrahmanya BJP 43883 K Bagegowda (JD(S) 19720
R Ashok
BJP 53680 L S Chetan Gowda (INC) 20123
  BTM layout
Ramalinga Reddy INC  69712 M Sudhakar (BJP)  49048
B N Vijaykumar BJP 43990 M C Venugopal (INC) 12312
Mahadevpura (SC)
Aravind Limbavali BJP  110244 A C Srinivas (INC)  6149
Satish Reddy BJP  86552 Nagabhushana C (INC)  25852
  Bangalore South
M Krishnappa BJP 102207 R Prabhakar Reddy (JDS) 30162
  Anekal (SC)
B Shivanna INC 105464 Narayana Swamy (BJP)


Somashekhar, the Congress candidate for Yeshwanthpur, secured 1,20,132 votes – the highest by any MLA this time. Lowest vote for any winning MLA was secured by R Jagadish Kumar, BJP candidate from Hebbal.

There are no women MLAs elected this time from Bangalore, though there were 40 women candidates in the fray. Single woman MLA from Bangalore in last elections, Shobha Karandlaje, lost in the race against Suresh Kumar (BJP) and Manjula Naidu (INC) in Rajajinagar constituency.

Support Citizen Matters - independent, Reader-funded media that covers your city like no other.DONATE
About News Desk 1215 Articles
The News Desk at Citizen Matters puts out Press Releases, notifications and curated information useful to the urban reader.


  1. At the outset kudos to Editors, Citizen Matters and their team for an excellent coverage and analysis of the elections right from day one covering pre and post poll articles. It has been an informative, focussed and statistics supported activity of your paper.
    The electorate has been watching what BJP and BSY, in particular, have been doing other than governance during their tenure and they have certainly got what they deserved.
    Also why is BSY making a statement that he has helped Congress in its numbers? What prevented him from working out a strategy to thwart this advantage to Congress before the elections .BSY and must BJP accept their defeat gracefully?
    We should just ignore face saving statements of the likes of BSY, Ananth kumar and Easwarappa . We the people of Karnataka have voted the Congress to power and should now hope and demand good governance from them.
    Let’s move forward
    Brig R S Murthy

  2. Both the national parties are engrossed in corruption, only difference is one is more corrupt than the other. People didn’t have a choice so opted for a change, otherwise everyone knows what is happening at center, one scam after another, nobody gets punished,opposition walks out hindering proceedings and work,no work no pay should be the motto for all the ministers, leaders, MLAs,MPs only then they will realise what for they are being elected and given power ? In hindi there is a maxim ” Ek taraf kuan (well),doosri taraf khai( trench)”, thats why people opted for CONGRESS being engrossed in biggest SCAMS. In koramangala from Jakkasandra to Police Public school road is dug and left out work in between, from Seva Sadan crossing to St. John’s medical college road is dug for under bridges, work had been stopped in between causing inconvenience to public, wastage of petrol for taking diversions, potholed road at Green view medical center hospital crossing,leading to slowing down just after crossing the signal,BBMP listens to representing association for curbing work. Metro work is delayed because statue of Ambedkar could not be shifted due to some people’s pressure tactics while other great leadres’statues could be shifted, who will pay the increasing cost and time wasted, public’s suffering because nobody bothers about that, only votebank matters. If none of the candidate is good enough to be voted, register for 49(0), atleast parties will ponder to select candidature who will serve people, not to fill their pockets by earning four times more and accumulating their assets,valuables,properties etc.

  3. The election verdict is on expected lines, throw out the garbage of BJP and bring green grass of Congress. We have been seeing the reign of congress all these years we are not having any hallucination that we will have a model government of yore. We will be more than satisfied if a government that works and caters to the need of the public and does not get entangled in corrupt practices prevalent in the nation and kill the public morale.

Comments are closed.