Bengaluru’s big awards night this weekend

Mary Issac from Jayanagar started Child Fund Association in 1982. providing children shelter and support. She has also helped several families by sponsoring fees, books, uniforms and clothes. Mary is one of the 47 nominations for this year’s Namma Bengaluru Awards.

Namma Bengaluru Awards was constituted by Namma Bengaluru Foundation, convened by Rajeev Chandrasekhar, MP, to honour such unsung heroes and institutions for their exemplary work towards society. Nomination were collected under six different categories; groups and organizations, citizens, public officials, public institutions, social entrepreneurs and elected representatives. NGOs, Residents Welfare Associations, educational institutions, NGOs, Public Officials, Social Entrepreneurs, Elected representatives are among the nominees. Out of the shortlisted candidates, a select few will be awarded on 7th April in a glittering ceremony at National College Grounds in Basavanagudi.

Shanti Raghavan, Mary Isaac and Wilma Rodrigues.

On being nominated Mary says, "If I win I could use the prize money on the education of children. I am helping 12 girls doing SSLC and they would need money to go to college including fees, bus pass etc."

SAAHAS, an NGO has been nominated under Social Entrepreneurs category from Jayanagar. It is focusses on zero waste projects in Bangalore. It collects used packaging like the tetra paks, recycle them into products that can be sold.

Wilma Rodrigues, Director, SAAHAS says she is "delighted to learn that there is an acknowledgement and acceptance of waste management problems and solutions.".

Another nominee is Jayanagar based Dream-a Dream. This organisation helps develop life skills in disadvantaged urban children and youth. "Getting nominated in Namma Bengaluru Awards 2011 was a very proud moment for us. We are strongly focussed on upliftment of urban youth and this will definitely help us," says Vishal Talreja, Co-founder and Director, Dream-a-Dream.

KAS Officer, H M Mujeeb Ahmed is the Chief Executive officer of the Roerich & Devaki Rani Roerich Estate Board. Nominated in the Public Official category, this Koramangala resident enjoys a clean record and has been a role model for colleagues and subordinates. A very delighted Ahmed says, "remaining honest is the ardent duty of any public servant. It is an one in a lakh opportunity to be a public servant and I am happy that I am able to keep my hands clean."

Another public official from Jayanagar, Dr P R Krishna Prasad, Scientist, Head of University of Agricultural sciences, Bangalore is also a nominee. He has developed and improved varieties of wheat, rice, sugarcane, brinjal benefiting the farmers.

Filmmaker and environmentalist, Suresh Heblikar from Jayanagar has made two dozen short films and documentaries on solar energy, wildlife, lakes, Western Ghats, and conservation. He is also the founder of Eco Watch, an organisation aimed at protecting the fast disappearing forests and water resources. Heblikar has been nominated under Citizen Category. He says, "It increases my responsibility, makes me feel more committed towards the society. "

Shanti Raghavan who founded Koramangala based ENABLE INDIA, which trains and counsels people with disability, is another nominee. Through her organization, she helps them become confident individuals. She works with corporates and helps a large number disabled find employment opportunities.

List of other nominees

Groups and Organisation


The Association of People with disability

Spastics Society

Dignity Foundation

The Bangalore Kidney Foundation

Mathru Blind School


GVK EMRI (Emergency Management and Research Institute)

Puttenahalli Neighbourhood lake improvement trust

Ugly Indians

Solid waste management round table

Visvesvarayanagar welfare association

Citizen Action Forum (CAF)


Dr Narpat Solanki
Fr. Anthony Sebastian
Uday Vijayan
G Manohar Row
Auto Shivakumar
Dr Meenakshi Bharat
Dr B S Venkatesh
Dr B Ramana Rao
Meena K Jain

Public Officials

Vidya shankar
U V Singh
P Manivannan
Sudhindra Rao
Lata Krishnarao
Shrishail S I
Krishna Murthy

Public Institutions

Bangalore One
Bangalore Traffic Police

Social Entrepreneurs

Harish Hande
Mrs Pavithra Y S
Daily Dump

Elected Representatives

Krishna Byre Gowda

Rajendra R

Shoba Karandalge

Suresh Kumar 

Support Citizen Matters - independent, Reader-funded media that covers your city like no other.DONATE