Poddar tees off to victory

Amitabh Poddar, a businessman from Sadashivnagar, scored 34 points to win the Bangalore Golf Club’s Intra-Club round of the McDowell Signature Club Golf Championships 2010. It was played in the new nine-hole PowerPlay Golf format at the Bangalore Golf Club on October 3rd.

Winners of Signature Golf Championship. Pic: Jyothi Gosala

Playing in the 0-8-handicap category, Poddar tallied 34 points and was followed home by Anand Srivastava with 30 points.

Dr. Rame Gowda, a KAS Officer and private secretary to Ministry of Home and Transport, emerged winner in the 9-16 handicap category with 45 points, followed by Sunil Vasant with 43 points.

A total of 140 golfers participated in the event to pick the six-member team, which will tee off against two more clubs from Bangalore, besides eight other clubs from the south. The all south winners Club will meet at the Pune Golf Club November 8 to select the southern zone champion club. The Southern zone champion will then tee off against champion clubs from other three zones in the all-India finals at Chang Mai, Thailand. More than 5000 golfers, representing 29 Golf clubs across 22 cities will participate in these championships to pick the champion golf  club of India.

Following are the results:

(Handicap 0-8):

Amitabh Poddar (34); Anand Srivastava (30).

(Handicap 9-16):

Dr. Rame Gowda (45); Sunil Vasant (43).

(Handicap 17-24): Surinder Jain (44); V. T Ranganath (43).

Signature Bold & Beautiful Special: Jude Lobo.

Bold Powerplay Point: V. T. Ranganath.

Kingfisher Longest Drive: Amitabh Poddar (305 yards)

Closest to the pin: Sunil Vasant.

Support Citizen Matters - independent, Reader-funded media that covers your city like no other.DONATE