ABCs of Voting in Bangalore

Find details of voter rolls, candidate information and polling booth information for the Lok Sabha 2009 elections here »

First, it is not too late to register to vote. The last date to register for the Bangalore region was expected to be 23 April, next week. [Update: AROs have apparently stopped accepting applications since April 16 – please see comment below.]

Second, if you are already registered and need to check if your name on the rolls, there is a way.

This article will get you started.

Some background

Greater Bangalore consists of 3 districts with its delimited assembly constituencies. Where you live will determine which district, constituency and polling booth you fall under.

District 21
Bangalore Rural

District 22

178 Hosakote
179 Devanahalli
180 Doddaballapur
181 Nelamangala

151 K R Puram
154 Rajarajeshwari Nagar
156 Mahalakshmi Layout
157 Malleshwaram
158 Hebbal
159 Pulakeshinagar
160 Sarvagna Nagar
161 C V Raman Nagar
162 Shivajinagar
163 Shanthinagar
164 Gandhinagar
165 Rajajinagar
166 Govindrajnagar
167 Vijayanagar
168 Chamarajpet
169 Chikkpet
170 Basavanagudi
171 Padmanabhanagar
172 B T M Layout
173 Jayanagar
175 Bommanahalli

District 30
Bangalore Urban

150 Yelahanka
152 Byatarayanapura
153 Yeshwanthpur
155 Dasarahalli
174 Mahadevpura
176 Bangalore South
177 Anekal

Each constituency has a set of "Parts" or Polling booth Areas.

Relationship between wards and constituencies:

How to register to vote?

1. Which Form?


For inclusion of names on the Voters list, for inclusion of missing names & transposition of names from the previous to the present constituency (Enclose copy of the address proof, & age proof if you are enrolling for the first time)


For deleting or objecting to the non-resident and deceased persons’ names from the list


For making corrections to the particulars of oneself on the list


For transposition of entry from one part of the Roll to another part in the same constituency

2. Where do I get the form?

3. Where to give the form?

See list of voter registration offices.

Also available at

Any helplines?

BBMP Constituency level help is at

Click here for other helpline details.

Where to vote?

See PollingBooth Locations

Additional Information: BBMP Voter Services guide

How to find your name on the voter rolls?

1. Identify your district in district list.

Go to

For help: use interactive map of districts and constituencies:

2. Navigate to your constituency under the district:

For e.g. BBMP details are at

To find out your constituency, use the map

3. In constituency, identify your part/polling booth area

The partwise list for each constituency is given:

E.g. Bommanahalli list is at:

To find out your part/polling booth number, use the map and figure out where your street/address is.

E.g. Bommanahalli map is at:

(Occasionally, it is not clear as the map is not very accurate)

4. To see the rolls, click on the part number.

E.g. For Part 15 in Bommanahalli, you will get\A1750015.pdf

Search for your name in the voter list

1. Click Here for search site:

2. Fill in your name and pin. You would need to try various spellings as the names are transliterated from enumeration records in Kannada.


1. State Election Commission:
2. Office of the CEC, Karnataka:
3. Macro Infotech’s Voter Information Site:
4. IVA initiative: (courtesy: Ravi Vattipalli)

Support Citizen Matters - independent, Reader-funded media that covers your city like no other.DONATE
About Meera K 41 Articles
Meera K is the co-founder of Citizen Matters, the award-winning civic media platform. She also helped initiate Open City, an urban data platform ( Meera is an Ashoka Fellow, recognised for her work building open knowledge platforms that allow citizens to collaborate and improve their cities. She is Founder-trustee at Oorvani Foundation.


  1. I faced the same issue as well. Went to Mahadevpura taluk office, spoke to the election officer there who sent me to Marthahalli (my constituency is Mahadevpura by the way). In Marthahalli, they said they have stopped collecting forms since 16th, and referred me to KR Puram Taluk. Went there, met the election officer, who said that i should simply wait till the next revision. This is after I have registered myself twice online and once during local census. 🙁
    The only bright point is that one gentlemen who was watching me fight to get my name in came and told me that though his name has been there in the rolls for a while, he has not been voting, and seeing me, he decided to vote this time 🙂

  2. The centers would be operating only between 8.30AM and 5.30pm, as per the news papers. [Not 24×7, as stated earlier.]

  3. Yes, it is true that the law permits one to submit the application till the last date of nomination, but also it says that the officials can keep aside the application till the due process is completed. Since they have to make a official verification, which is not possible at this juncture, your name will not be included in the list immediately. They will include the names into the list subsequently, that is after the elections. Normally the cut-off date for inclusion of names for that particular elections will be 10 days before last date for nominations.

  4. According to EC, requests for inclusion CAN be made till the last date of nomination, which has been announced to be Apr 23rd. Not sure why AROs are not accepting applications, so one has to wait for the elections to get over?

    [Note: Voter id cards are ONLY for those whose names are already on the voter rolls]

  5. Not really. I talked to one of the AROs and he said the last date for Bangalore citizen is already over on 16th. He asked me to check the news papers for announcements and it was indeed published today in The Hindu. Note that corrections are also not allowed at this stage.

    However, the good news is, one can apply for voter ID card between 21st April and 5th May. Download Form-001 from and submit the form along with your photo and an address proof at the designated centers. They operate 24×7 during this period. It would take 48 hours to get the card.

Comments are closed.